Home > Autism, Signal Boosts > Masterpiece Societies and Puzzle Pieces: An Open Letter to Patrick Stewart

Masterpiece Societies and Puzzle Pieces: An Open Letter to Patrick Stewart

Said it better than I did.

The Quixotic Autistic

Dear Sir Patrick Stewart,

You are one of my heroes. I grew up with the characters you depicted on the big and small screen, who made me laugh, cry, think, and soar to new heights of emotion. You inspired me both as a human being and as your characters, to re-think the way I saw the world, and examine the injustices marring it with critical eyes, and hands ready to re-shape it into a better, more humane, more equal place.

I know you probably tire of hearing this, but more than any other character you depicted, the one who most greatly challenged me intellectually and compelled me towards action was Captain Jean-Luc Picard of the USS Enterprise. Captain Picard embodied everything I ever wanted myself to be: Passionate, convicted, and filled with courage and eloquence. His incredible speeches resonate with me now as an adult who fights a daily battle…

View original post 766 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

