Home > Autism, Signal Boosts > I Was One of the Scary Kids

I Was One of the Scary Kids

Reblogging this because it’s incredibly important. We need to hear from this perspective, and we need to listen. Otherwise, we don’t stand a chance of making the world a better place.

Cracked Mirror in Shalott

Content note: ableism, stigmatization of Autistics and other PWDs, the Sandy Hook shooting

I didn’t want to write about the shootings at all. I knew a number of people (who I’ll link to throughout this post) and organizationswould be posting and writing, working to counter the inevitable stigma fail that would happen. I even was keeping to commenting on the links of people I care about, people who I know and who I want to have these sorts of discussions with. Then, it happened. I’ll leave the critiques of the post gawker promoted toothers, but I feel obligated to make a comment about some of the assumptions it is based on and promotes.

That comment starts with a declaration: I was one of those scary kids.

It’s not some great proud thing to say. It’s a truth, a truth that when I reveal it makes people…

View original post 2,031 more words

Categories: Autism, Signal Boosts Tags: ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

