Home > Autism, Signal Boosts > “They” were wrong

“They” were wrong

And this, because it makes my heart sing.

The Caffeinated Autistic

Image

I rarely write about my kids here, despite parenting obviously being one of the things I definitely care about.  Part of this is because that in advocating for myself as an adult autistic, I am trying to urge parents to treat their autistic children in a more accepting manner.  So it’s sort of me investing in their future by advocating for all autistics, adults and children alike.  Another part of why I don’t talk too much about my kids is that I really don’t want to ignore their right to privacy.  I do not feel that I own my children.  I feel like parenting them is a privilege and a huge responsibility, but it is not a sign of ownership.  I really feel fearful about parenting attitudes that treat kids as property and things to be controlled rather than individual human beings to be respected and loved.  I care about…

View original post 1,661 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

