Home > Signal Boosts > My Brain Is Not An Assault Rifle

My Brain Is Not An Assault Rifle

Yes, this needed saying. Thank you Kyriolexy for saying it so well.

Kyriolexy

I didn’t want to write this post. I didn’t want to write about the Sandy Hook massacre of 27 people, 20 of them children. I don’t typically write about strong emotions, and what is the aftermath of the death of children but strong emotion? I didn’t want to. But here I am.

When I heard of the shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Connecticut, I was horrified and viscerally sickened. I imagine that most people felt similarly, especially those of us who are parents. I thought about my friends and acquaintances in Connecticut and worried for their safety. I thought about my children–my nine-year-old son, who at that moment was in an elementary school classroom exactly like that of the Sandy Hook children. My seven-year-old son and my not-quite-six-year old daughter, so close in age to the young victims. My firstborn daughter, who follows current events and could not…

View original post 1,375 more words

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

