Home > Autism, Childcare, Rhythm > Appreciating my job

Appreciating my job

I wish I had the time and brain-focus to write about every single time I take care of “my” kiddos. It’s a wonderful experience and I get so much from them. Sadly, I’ve been realizing just how temporary a pleasure it is. Not only do children grow up so quickly, but this job isn’t exactly permanent– for me or for the families I work with. Fishy’s family has been so busy I haven’t seen them in months, and Tangles’ family moved out of the city a month ago. I haven’t had a chance to see her since, although her mom and I remain in touch and apparently she’s doing very well at her new school. I miss them both terribly, though, along with Plumpkin, an actual baby I’ve been babysitting lately, whose family has also just moved.

My most fun lately has been spending time with Rhythm. I generally care for him in the late afternoon and evening, and it’s often after a frantic day. When I’m worn out from far too much verbal input (i.e. conversation) for my comfort, drama, and/or chasing a toddler around, it’s wonderful to be able to relax with someone who just wants to sit quietly doing soothing repetitive activities. I’ve begun to feel like babysitting him is downright therapeutic for me! Even on our most stressful days, he’s such a great kid that I always leave his house with a smile.

I love the way Rhythm says “oh yeah” for “yes,” and sometimes runs several of them together when he’s excited: “ohyeahohyeah!” — with wide eyes and eyebrows up, like he just got a pleasant surprise. I love the way he nods “yes,” too, pulling his chin up with an inhalation, then bringing it down to his chest sharply, decisively, as he breathes out, as if he’s just made a very important decision. He loves to laugh, but can also be charmingly sincere and almost majestic at times, like a little prince addressing his subjects. I love the way he solemnly offers to share his food with me, holding a bite out to me earnestly and waiting for me to either accept it or say “no thank you.” I love his ways of showing affection, like taking my arm and placing it around his shoulders as we sit together on the porch swing.

He’s a real joy to be around. I hope that he will always have people in his life who appreciate him as much as I do. Fortunately, this seems to be the case. His family adores him, and at every party they’ve thrown, I’ve seen how much their friends are fond of him as well. The other kids welcome him even when they don’t understand him, and he’ll wander in and out of their activities without anyone remarking on the strangeness of his behavior.  I wish every autistic child could be so lucky. And I count myself lucky to know him.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

