Coda

The day after my last post, I brought my pair of woodshop headphones with me when I went over to babysit Rhythm. And when he started to fall apart, I said “I’d like to try something for you” and put them on him.

He loved them. He wore them for the majority of the afternoon. He discovered and taught me something new, which is that if you wear them while spinning (say, on a rope swing), you don’t get dizzy as quickly.

The following day, Rhythm was watching TV when I arrived, and we did that for a while. Then, he ran over to a shelf full of books and toys and began rummaging around– something I haven’t seen him do before. Eventually, he held up a pair of headphones, the kind you use for listening to music!

“You want to borrow my headphones again?” I asked. He nodded. He wore them for most of that afternoon as well, removing them only for brief conversations with me and to listen to specific sounds he enjoys.

He still had some stressful moments, but far less. I’ve suggested to his parents that they buy him a pair of his own.

  1. February 16, 2014 at 4:52 am

    Another mark in the column for the intense world theory. I’m so pleased to hear it helped him so much!

    Like

    • Restless Hands
      June 11, 2014 at 7:15 pm

      In the longer term, it turned out a bit more complicated. He’d ask for the ear-protectors when I was there, but his mother told me that he’d get frustrated and throw them at other times. I suspect his parents weren’t as tuned in to when they would or wouldn’t help, and didn’t know the best times to offer them. But I do hope that at least it’s one more tool in his toolkit.

      Like

  2. February 16, 2014 at 12:20 pm

    Yes! This is so cool! I’m on a tear right now looking into arousal bias and emotional regulation, and I just adore those moments when you unlock a secret for a kid, or even better, let them unlock it themselves. Sooooo cool that he let you know he liked them!

    Like

    • Restless Hands
      June 11, 2014 at 7:15 pm

      In the longer term, it turned out a bit more complicated. He’d ask for the ear-protectors when I was there, but his mother told me that he’d get frustrated and throw them at other times. I suspect his parents weren’t as tuned in to when they would or wouldn’t help, and didn’t know the best times to offer them. But I do hope that at least it’s one more tool in his toolkit.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

